Mavis Booze Mentoring Award

The Mavis Booze Mentoring Award was established in 1999. Mavis Booze, a longtime active member of both the South Dakota Counseling Association and the South Dakota School Counseling Association, passed away on June 21, 1998 following a long battle with cancer. 

Mavis served as a school counselor in South Dakota for twenty-one years. She began her counseling career in Miller in 1975, move on to Pierre in 1978 to become a counselor at TF Riggs High School. She held the position in Pierre for 18 years before retirement in 1996. 

Throughout her years, Mavis dedicated a countless number of hours to the counseling profession statewide by serving on numerous boards and committees. Both SDCA and SDSCA have honored her with the highest awards that their organizations have to bestow on their members. 

The truly memorable thing about Mavis was her wonderful ability and willingness to  help other counselors. Counselors from across the state turned to her throughout the years for support and information and she always gladly and willingly helped them become more knowledgeable, competent, and caring. Mentor, friend, adviser, and role-model-Mavis has been all of these to many people. As a result, as a way of honoring her, it seems only fitting that the Mavis Booze Mentoring Award be given annually to recognize a counselor who shares willingly and enthusiastically what they know with others. 

A Personal Note from Carla Fielder Claymore, who helped establish this award...

"Mavis Booze was the counselor at Riggs High School in Pierre when I became the K-12 counselor for the Stanley County School District in Ft. Pierre in 1981. Previously, I had been a Junior High counselor for Todd County School District and a residential counselor in the BIA dormitories in Mission, SD. But that prior experience and my MA in Counseling form USD did not adequately prepare me for many of the responsibilities that came with being a K-12 school counselor at Stanley County.

That's when Mavis Booze came to my rescue and became my mentor and eventually my close friend. Over the phone, at local chapter meetings, or while traveling to counseling conventions together-Mavis gave me a brain to pick, an ear to listen, and a push in the right direction. I always had a lot of questions for her and she was amazingly helpful at all times. I asked for for advice and she gave it. She taught me the nuts and bolts of guidance and counseling, and she became the model to which I aspired.

Mavis was a wise and trusted mentor, adviser, guide, tutor, and coach to many other counselors from the Central Guidance Chapter and from throughout the state, as well. She retired in 1996 and passed away in 1998, but her legacy will always endure through the countless minds she awakened and the lives she touched.

In 1999, the Central Chapter members felt it was important to establish the SDCA Mavis Booze Mentoring Award in her honor to recognize counselors who share willingly and enthusiastically what they know with others." 

These winners have demonstrated the willingness and ability to provide support and to share insights, expertise, resources, and enthusiasm with other counselors. In addition, they have demonstrated an understanding of the counseling profession and shown respect for it. 


2023 Winner: Jessica Brockel, pictured with nominators, Amy Mielke & Ashley Geist 

Jessie has a passion for the counseling profession, her numerous clients, as well as furthering the profession by teaching, supervising, and motivating the next generation of counseling professionals. She prioritizes continuing education at the local, state, and national levels, generously paying the way for her employees, supervise-ees, and counselors in training to attend various events, both virtually and in person. Jessie goes out of her way to create intentional time and opportunities for her staff to train and gather within her private practice, even hosting a special retreat for her employees last spring which focused on self-care, growing in our skills, and strategic planning in both our personal careers and in our group work as
a team. -Ashley Geist

Jessie is a person that loves to learn and share knowledge with anyone who will listen. I asked her what she gets out of being a supervisor for upcoming counselors, and her response was "I get to guide people in being creative, and help them explore their abilities while having a safe place to practice the skills they have learned. They get to work with a staff that is passionate about mental health, care deeply about each other, and are confident in expressing thoughts or concerns to team members to provide the best possible care. You will get education opportunities and work with some amazing people!" Since I have been working with Jessie at the Support Circle in my practicum and internships, I have seen nothing less than this. She is always willing to listen, give guidance and help alter my ideas to be the best they can be. She lets me try new things, while making sure the clients get what they need. Jessie sends me information she gets about new classes and seminars, and shares in my joys when I succeed in something I do. Jessie was a big help to me even before I started college. I talked to her on several occasions when I was trying to decide if i really wanted to go back to school for counseling. Jessie never pushes her ideas or opinions on people, she listens and gives positive or negative feedback. She is always looking for more ways to help others, and is excited to help people learn.- Amy Mielke


Past Award Winners

  • 2023- Jessica Brockel
  • 2022- Tracey Caldwell
  • 2021- Deb Butman Perkins
  • 2019- Dr. Karyl Meister
  • 2018- Robin Svendsen
  • 2017 - Jennifer Wiese
  • 2016 - Rebecca Christiansen
  • 2015 - Ashley Seeklander
  • 2014 - Sherri Booze
  • 2013 - Kent Turbak
  • 2012 - Stacy Solsaa
  • 2011 - Duane Kavanaugh
  • 2010 - Tami Ambroson
  • 2009 - Jill Stephenson
  • 2008 - Chris and Hande Briddick
  • 2007 - Andree Johnson
  • 2006 - Jay Trenhaile
  • 2005 - John Hegg
  • 2004 - Grace Mims & Jill Schoen
  • 2003 - Carla Claymore
  • 2002 - Frank Main
  • 2001 - Nancy Kennedy
  • 2000 - Ruth Johnson
  • 1999 - Bill Smith